See it Through the Eyes of the Rescued


Well folksies … the time has come for a post with food in it for you. You might remember this format. Although it’s been approximately 100 years since I’ve used it! Unfortunately, I don’t know how long it will last as WordPress doesn’t seem to like my template much. I’ll see what I can do about that in the future though. I’m not the least bit daunted by a few little script errors. Oh HELL’s NO!

I have some EXCELLENT news on the ‘health’ front. I’ve just found out that my company, although we have a state of the art gym on site, also pays for memberships at 24 hour fitness locally here. What does that mean? Access to an olympic sized pool and whirlpool and sauna! Really the perfect exercise for someone with such back problems as I have. I’m so unbelievably pleased!!! I can’t wait to get back swimming again. Oh hello summer bikini weather … HERE I COME!!! Now … where did I put that snorkle?

In other news. Sookie and Kadee seem to be getting into the swing of things schedule-wise. They go right into the kitchen now when it’s time for me to head to work. (they’re actually resigned rather than enthusiastic about this venture, but we’re getting there.) It’s nice not to have to fight them. (I’m pretty sure Kadee preferred being locked in my bedroom when I had the gate fiasco though.) In anycase, they’re doing well and we’re having fun with our new structured times. All’s well.

Speaking of my dogs, the shelter I adopted them from needs some assistance. The HUA (Hearts United for Animals @ HUA.org) has recently rescued 99 puppy mill dogs and could desperately use some donations, they don’t necessarily need to be monetary either. If you have blankets or dog clothes or anything of that nature it would be appreciated. Many of these animals are crippled due to long term horrific conditions and need hospitalization and surgery so certainly a monetary donation would be helpful as well. I realize this seems rediculous in light of what’s happened in Haiti .. but if there’s anything you could manage, it would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance!

That’s all folks … on to the rest …

ஜ~§Quote Of The Day§~ஜ

I have come to believe that the whole world is an enigma, a harmless enigma that is made terrible by our own mad attempt to interpret it as though it had an underlying truth.
Umberto Eco

ஜ~§The Question Of The Day§~ஜ

What one film do you think everyone should see?

ஜ~§The Word Of The Day§~ஜ

Cohere

PRONUNCIATION:
(ko-HEER)

MEANING:
verb intr.: To be united; to work or hold together.

ETYMOLOGY:
From Latin cohaerere, from co- (together) + haerere (to stick).

USAGE:
“I learned to slip back and forth between my black and white worlds, understanding that each possessed its own language and customs and structures of meaning, convinced that with a bit of translation on my part the two worlds would eventually cohere.”

ஜ~§Poem Of The Day§~ஜ

See it Through

When you’re up against a trouble,
Meet it squarely, face to face;
Lift your chin and set your shoulders,
Plant your feet and take a brace.
When it’s vain to try to dodge it,
Do the best that you can do;
You may fail, but you may conquer,
See it through!
Black may be the clouds about you
And your future may seem grim,
But don’t let your nerve desert you;
Keep yourself in fighting trim.
If the worst is bound to happen,
Spite of all that you can do,
Running from it will not save you,
See it through!

Even hope may seem but futile,
When with troubles you’re beset,
But remember you are facing
Just what other men have met.
You may fail, but fall still fighting;
Don’t give up, whate’er you do;
Eyes front, head high to the finish.
See it through!

Edgar Albert Guest

ஜ~§Recipe Of The Day§~ஜ

Peppered Pork w/ Chive Sauce

Ingredients:
4 boneless pork loin chops, cut 3/4-inch thick
1 teaspoon coarsely ground tri-colored peppercorns or black peppercorns
2 teaspoons cooking oil
1/4 cup water
3 tablespoons dry sherry or chicken broth
1 3-ounce package cream cheese with chives, cut up
Snipped fresh chives (optional)

Preparation:
Sprinkle both sides of pork chops with pepper, rubbing it lightly into the pork. In a 10-inch skillet cook pork in hot oil for 8 to 10 minutes or until juices run clear and an instant-read thermometer inserted in center of chop registers 155 degrees F, turning halfway through cooking. Remove pork and keep warm.

For sauce, carefully add the water to the hot skillet. Add sherry or broth to skillet and heat until bubbly. Add the cream cheese. Using a wire whisk, heat and whisk over medium heat until the cream cheese is melted. Transfer warm pork to 4 dinner plates. Spoon sauce atop pork. If desired, sprinkle with snipped chives.

Makes 4 servings.

Serving Suggestion: Steam or microwave quartered new potatoes and green beans, then drizzle with lemon juice. Serve glasses of apple cider with dinner.

recipe source
BHG.com

Brightest Blessings,
~Surry~

One Response to See it Through the Eyes of the Rescued

  1. Kathy says:

    Oh I like this template!

    I couldn’t possibly pick ONE film…cept maybe err umm no, I can’t LOL

Leave a Reply

