Bureaucratic Birthday Queues ~ Squee!


~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~

Ahhh, my niece’s birthday went off without a hitch .. K-Boo was super cute too. She got a plush frog backpack, and when she opened it … she smushed her little face against the froggies face and said ‘fwoggy fwoggy fwoggy’ and then squealed. It was delightful to watch!!! Alas, she’ll also be the best dressed 2 year old girl in at least the five nearest counties to be sure!

I have to say … I’ve been working out … nearly daily. My back is aching in places it didn’t used to ache. This leads me to believe that either my core is getting stronger or that I may need to head into the chiropractor and see where my spine is twisted. If I hit the chiropractor I could possibly find out about, and concentrate on building, the muscles in my back that would help realign mah spine. (<— I’m a poet … didn’t know it!) I’ll make an appointment next week, after I get paid. I’m sure they’ll be expecting some type of monetary donation for their time and trouble. *sighs*

I’m getting behind on my blog reading, mainly because instead of paring down the number of blogs I read … I added to them … and it’s a bunch of photography blogs … so I’m all about getting the 411 on lighting and aperature settings and shutter speeds and film speed and whatnot. Good times … I’ll spend some time on them this weekend, on my pokey pokey pokey little laptop … that I can no longer use to trade up for a better one at the pawn shop because the mousepad is dead. *wipes lone tear away*

On TV last night was: The Deep End, Fringe, Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice, Supernatural and Burn Notice. Off the bookshelf I’m still reading Wizard’s First Rule, it’s a long arse book, 836 pages!

So that’s today’s news … here’s a little chuckle for ya!

Women are Angels and when someone breaks our wings…. we simply continue to fly …

… on a broomstick! We are flexible!

On with the rest!

~§Quote Of The Day§~ஜ

Bureaucrats write memoranda both because they appear to be busy when they are writing and because the memos, once written, immediately become proof that they were busy.

Charles Peters

(Oddly enough, this is exactly what I suspect our current legislators are doing, basically … nothing!)

ஜ~§The Question Of The Day§~ஜ

If you could give a secret gift of any value to one anonymous recipient, who would you choose and what would you give them?

I would love to be able to secretly pay off my parents’ house.  My reason for this is two-fold.  One, because they’re awesome and they deserve to have those funds to play with during their retirement.  Two, because that frees up some cash for me to borrow when I’m broke as a joke!

ஜ~§The Word Of The Day§~ஜ

Sanguine

PRONUNCIATION:

(SANG-gwin)

MEANING:

adjective:

1. Cheerfully optimistic or confident.
2. Having a healthy reddish color.
3. Blood-red.

ETYMOLOGY: From Old French sanguin, from Latin sanguineus (bloody), from sanguis (blood).

USAGE: “Still, let us not be over-sanguine of a speedy final triumph. Let us be quite sober.”

ஜ~§Poem Of The Day§~ஜ

Q

I join the queue
We move up nicely.

I ask the lady in front
What are we queuing for.
‘To join another queue,’
She explains.

‘How pointless,’ I say,
‘I’m leaving.’ She points
To another long queue.
‘Then you must get in line.’

I join the queue.
We move up nicely.

Roger McGough

ஜ~§Recipe Of The Day§~ஜ

I’m adding some more Superbowl goodies … for the BACON lovers out there. I’ll add them up to the day of the SB.

Potato Cake with Cheese and Bacon

Ingredients:

5-ounce/140-grams piece lean bacon, cut into lardons*
2 tablespoons/30 grams lard or vegetable oil
2 pounds/900 grams baking potatoes, thinly sliced
Salt and pepper
8 ounces/100 grams Cantal or Gruyère cheese, diced or cut into thin, narrow strips
10-inch/25-cm nonstick frying pan

Preparation:

Heat the bacon lardons in a 10-inch/25-cm frying pan over medium heat until the fat runs, 2 to 3 minutes. Do not let them brown. Remove them with a draining spoon and set aside. Melt the lard in the pan, add the potatoes, and sprinkle them with pepper. The bacon may contribute enough salt. Reduce the heat to low, cover, and cook for 5 minutes. Stir in the lardons and continue to cook, uncovered, over low heat, tossing or stirring often, until the potatoes are tender and some are browned, 20 to 25 minutes. Don’t worry if some of them are crushed, as they will help hold the mixture in a cake.

Stir in the cheese, taste, and adjust the seasoning. Press down on the potatoes to level them in the pan. Turn the heat to high and let them cook without stirring until the bottom is browned, 3 to 5 minutes. Press on the cake occasionally to hold it together.

When done, it should be brown around the edges and starting to pull from the sides of the pan. Take the pan off the heat, run a knife around the edge to loosen the cake, and turn it out onto a warmed serving plate. 

*Lardons are fatty, thick bacon that has its rind cut off, and that is then chopped into small cubes. I suspect you could use 5 ounces of whatever your bacon preference is! 

Brightest Blessings!

Surry

3 Responses to Bureaucratic Birthday Queues ~ Squee!

  1. Fringe and Grey’s have been good lately. And good for you with the working out.

  2. Lacey says:

    I know you know I know you’re work out pains, haha. It’s AWFUL!

    On the other hand, that recipe totally makes up for it. I’m adding it to my list!

  3. Kori says:

    Great post! Thanks for the comments on my Disney post honey. Kori xoxo

Leave a Reply

