All Consuming Blizzard-Ache


I know I said I’d be trying to post more, but it was taking a while for people to make the switch with me from Blogger to WordPress, which btw I love … and will love more once I can figure out how to add my blogroll to it. In all honesty though, I haven’t been trying very hard to figure that out.

Tv this week.  Monday was HIMYM, 2.5 Men, The Big Bang Theory, Heroes, CSI: Miami, Castle and Life Unexpected.  Tuesday was NCIS, NCIS: LA, LOST, White Collar, The Forgotten and The Good Wife.  Wednesday was Human Target, Criminal Minds, Ugly Betty, Psych, and Leverege. 

I have an all consuming headache tonight, so I just have a funny pic to post … before that though … if you’re not reading this blog:

SleepTalkinMan

you really should be … as it’s a HUGE laugh riot so props to the sleeping man!

Also, don’t forget to stop by my friend E’s Blog:

 A Seat In The Kitchen

She’s a new foodie type blogger and she’s amazing, she has some great tricks and fabulous recipes AND she’s one of my very BESTEST BFF’s!!!

Now, here’s a funny!

ஜ~§Quote Of The Day§~ஜ

Reality continues to ruin my life.
Bill Watterson

ஜ~§The Question Of The Day§~ஜ

Is there any character from a novel or film that serves as a role model to you? What kind of advice do you think she or he would give you regarding any major issues you’re facing right now?

ஜ~§The Word Of The Day§~ஜ

Interdict

PRONUNCIATION:
(noun: IN-tuhr-dikt, verb: in-tuhr-DIKT)

MEANING:
noun: A prohibition, especially a formal one, as by a court, church, etc.
verb tr.: To prohibit or stop.

ETYMOLOGY:
From Latin interdictum (prohibition), from interdicere (to prohibit), from dicere (to speak). Ultimately from the Indo-European root deik- (to show, to pronounce solemnly) that is also the source of other words such as judge, verdict, vendetta, revenge, indicate, dictate, and paradigm.

USAGE:
“In China, near Shanghai, the inhabitants of two small districts have the privilege of raising eggs for the whole surrounding country, and that they may give up their whole time to this business, they are interdicted by law from producing silk.”

ஜ~§Poem Of The Day§~ஜ

A Patch of Old Snow

There’s a patch of old snow in a corner
That I should have guessed
Was a blow-away paper the rain
Had brought to rest.

It is speckled with grime as if
Small print overspread it,
The news of a day I’ve forgotten —
If I ever read it.

Robert Frost

ஜ~§Recipe Of The Day§~ஜ

Lemon-and-Herb Rubbed Pork Chops

Ingredients:
4 teaspoons minced garlic (about 8 cloves)
1-1/2 teaspoons finely shredded lemon peel
1 teaspoon dried rosemary, crushed
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon dried sage, crushed
1/2 teaspoon pepper
4 pork loin chops, cut 1-1/4 inches thick

Preparation:
For rub, combine the garlic, lemon peel, rosemary, salt, sage, and pepper. Trim fat from meat. Rub mixture onto both sides of each pork chop.

For a charcoal grill, arrange medium-hot coals around a drip pan in a grill that has a cover. Test for medium heat above pan. Place chops on grill rack directly over the pan. Cover and grill, turning once, until an instant-read thermometer inserted in center of a chop registers 160 degrees F and juices run clear (35 to 40 minutes).

For a gas grill, preheat grill. Reduce heat to medium and adjust for indirect cooking. Place chops on grill rack; and grill as above. Makes 4 servings.

Better Homes and Gardens

Brightest Blessings,

Surry

7 Responses to All Consuming Blizzard-Ache

  1. pam says:

    I love the look of this blog! So soothing.

  2. Andrea says:

    I love the comic. That’s funny 🙂

  3. Love the cartoon. Reminds me of a T-shirt I got as a Father’s Day gift that had similar pictures on it.

    Thanks for sharing,

  4. morrow says:

    Just drop by – like your mix of things – poetry- humor- and cooking thats great. I agree with the previous post very soothing.

  5. Kathy says:

    First, I missed ya 😀

    As far as your blogroll goes, the only way I’ve been able to figure out how to do it is to add them individually under “links”. You can make a link category…blogroll or whatnot and then add that widget to your sidebar.

    I’ll have to check out your friends blog. You know I LOVE cooking blogs. If I like her lots, I’ll add her to my sidebar on MY COOKBOOK

    The cartoon was too funny 😀

  6. Lacey says:

    I LOVE the quote today. Seriously, I was just thinking the same dern thing. 😉

Leave a Reply

