Guess who’s not coming to dinner?


It seems like I haven’t posted in ages. There’s a good reason for that … my life is over dead dull boring!! Sometimes … nothing happens worth mentioning for centuries weeks on end. However … something really interesting happened just a few days ago.

My dog ate my blackberry.

Yup that’s right … I woke up on February 12th to find Sookie madly attacking happily chomping down on my blackberry. My beloved near to 6 year old blackberry. I mean … I’m sure the berry was metallicy tastey … but I was thinking “sheesh girl … don’t you have my hand a rawhide or my foot your Kong laying around here somewhere?”

Needless to say … the bberry didn’t make it … and I had to head on down to my local Verizon store … LUCKILY … I was eligable for an upgrade. (lucky? what am I saying, lucky? I was using a 6 year old blackberry, of COURSE I was eligable for an upgrade!!! Sheesh!)

So … I picked out the new Tour, after being told I’d hate I probably wouldn’t care much for the Storm if I did a lot of texting. So … I went home with my brand new blackberry … pretty hot pink coverlet and all. I did NOT however come home with all of my diligently entered in contacts. URGH!!!

The old unit was too mangled and spit upon badly damaged for the transfer. (And NO … I hadn’t re-backed it up on my PC since my last PC reformatting session)

Now Sookie’s in the pound rolling around with a full pound of little rawhides. RIGHT ON! Good times! Amirite?

ஜ~§Quote Of The Day§~ஜ

I never think of myself as an icon. What is in other people’s minds is not in my mind. I just do my thing.
Audrey Hepburn

ஜ~§The Question Of The Day§~ஜ

If you were asked to recommend one destination in your country to friends who had never been to your country before, what place would you choose, and why?

ஜ~The Word Of The Day~ஜ

Irascible

PRONUNCIATION:
(i-RAS-uh-buhl)

MEANING:
adjective:
1. Quick-tempered.
2. Showing anger or resulting from anger.

ETYMOLOGY:
From Latin irascibilis (quick to anger), from irasci (to grow angry), from ira (anger). Ultimately from the Indo-European root eis- (passion), which is also the source of irate, ire, hierarchy, hieroglyphic, and estrogen.

USAGE:
“Mr. Weir concludes from his large experience that the erection of the feathers is caused much more by anger than by fear. He gives as an instance a hybrid goldfinch of a most irascible disposition, which when approached too closely by a servant, instantly assumes the appearance of a ball of ruffled feathers.”

ஜ~§Poem Of The Day§~ஜ

Barbie Doll

This girlchild was born as usual
and presented dolls that did pee-pee
and miniature GE stoves and irons
and wee lipsticks the color of cherry candy.
Then in the magic of puberty, a classmate said:
You have a great big nose and fat legs.

She was healthy, tested intelligent,
possessed strong arms and back,
abundant sexual drive and manual dexterity.
She went to and fro apologizing.
Everyone saw a fat nose on thick legs.

She was advised to play coy,
exhorted to come on hearty,
exercise, diet, smile and wheedle.
Her good nature wore out
like a fan belt.
So she cut off her nose and her legs
and offered them up.

In the casket displayed on satin she lay
with the undertaker’s cosmetics painted on,
a turned-up putty nose,
dressed in a pink and white nightie.
Doesn’t she look pretty? everyone said.
Consummation at last.
To every woman a happy ending.

Anonymous submission.

Marge Piercy

ஜ~§Recipe Of The Day§~ஜ

Shrimp with Basil and Tomatoes

Ingredients:
12 ounces fresh or frozen peeled and deveined medium shrimp
1 tablespoon cooking oil
1 large onion, chopped (1 cup)
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 cups chopped, plum or common tomatoes
2 tablespoons snipped fresh basil or 1 teaspoon dried basil, crushed
1 tablespoon drained capers (optional)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
8 ounces spaghetti or other pasta, cooked and drained
1/4 cup finely shredded Parmesan cheese
Fresh basil leaves (optional)

Preparation:
Thaw shrimp, if frozen. Set aside.

Pour cooking oil into a wok or large skillet. (Add more oil as necessary during cooking.) Preheat over medium-high heat. Stir-fry onion and garlic in hot oil for 2 minutes or until onions are crisp-tender. Remove onion mixture from the wok.

Add shrimp to the hot wok. Stir-fry for 2 to 3 minutes or until shrimp turn opaque.

Return onion mixture to the wok. Add tomatoes, basil, capers (if desired), salt, and pepper. Stir all ingredients together. Cook and stir for 1 minute more or until heated through. Serve immediately over hot cooked spaghetti or other pasta. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Garnish with fresh basil leaves, if desired. Makes 4 servings.

4 Responses to Guess who’s not coming to dinner?

  1. Kathy says:

    OMG I can’t believe she ate your blackberry! Crazy lol ummmm I think I’d send people to the grand canyon..it’s pretty awesome

  2. Lacey says:

    Dogs are crazy. Evie is always here to remind me not to give too much weight to tangible possessions, haha!

  3. pam says:

    I can’t believe she ate your Blackberry. Maybe she knew you needed a new one. I’m waiting for the Tour 2, which they’ve been saying should be out any day now…unfortunately they’ve been saying that since December!

Leave a Reply

