Differential … not Deferential


So … yesterday and today were pretty craptastic days. My car was making a funny noise, we took it to a family friend/excellent mechanic to have it checked out. We originally thought the trouble was from one of two possibilities, a bad wheel bearing or a CV joint. Turns out … neither of those were the case. Apparently I’ve broken my front end differential. Now … here’s a diagram of where a differential is located:

The differential has three jobs:

To aim the engine power at the wheels
To act as the final gear reduction in the vehicle, slowing the rotational speed of the transmission one final time before it hits the wheels
To transmit the power to the wheels while allowing them to rotate at different speeds (This is the one that earned the differential its name.)

A car needs a differential because your car wheels spin at different speeds, especially when turning. In essence, your outside wheels go a longer distance than your inside wheels when executing a turn, therefor they must spin faster. If you didn’t have a differential … your wheels would be forced to spin at the same speed making turning difficult.

So … I’m having my differential replaced. My mom and I are sharing her car for the time being, which really isn’t too bad. Silver lining to working graveyard shift, I sleep while my mom uses her car. I wake up, she drops the car off, and I take her home. Then I use the car while she’s sleeping. I drop the car off when she wakes up. Works all around. Still … I was so frustrated this afternoon when I got the news from my Daddy, that I just broke down and started crying. I NEVER cry!!! I’m dude-like and stoic that way. My poor dad, on the phone, he says “are you crying? why are you crying?” I replied “I’m just so frustrated!!! I think we have CAR CURSE!”
Mah daddy laughed and said “you don’t even cry at funerals, now buck up … it’s not so bad!” Thanks pops! (Now can I drive your race car?)

On a lighter note, and a healthier one too! I posted last time about Bento Boxes, along with a bento box meal. I put my lunch(es) together the other day and snapped a pic. I posted it on Twitter, but I’m sure some of you don’t follow me there, so here’s the photo of yesterday’s (and today’s) lunch. Yummy!!! I love love love this salad and the pasta with vodka sauce ain’t to shabby either! Excellent nosh Petunia! (it looks like there was more room for pasta in there, best make sure I fill er up next time!)

I got an interesting link in my email today too MSNBC is conducting a poll. so here’s your chance to let the media know where the people stand on faith in God, as a nation. (keep in mind I follow a Druidic path, so I’m in no way advocating or disavowing your personal faiths)

NBC is presently taking a poll on “In God We Trust” to stay on our American currency. Which way do you lean? Go to this link to vote: MSNBC Poll: In God We Trust

ஜ~§Quote Of The Day§~ஜ

The person who has lived the most is not the one with the most years but the one with the richest experiences.
Jean-Jacques Rousseau

ஜ~§The Question Of The Day§~ஜ

If you could be transported anywhere in the world, at any point in time, where and when would would you choose to live, and why?

ஜ~§The Word Of The Day§~ஜ

ex cathedra

PRONUNCIATION:
(eks kuh-THEE-druh)

MEANING:
adverb, adjective: Spoken with authority; with the authority of the office.

ETYMOLOGY:
From Latin ex cathedra (from the chair), from cathedra (chair). In the Roman Catholic Church, when the Pope speaks ex cathedra he is considered infallible. The word cathedral is short for the full term cathedral church, meaning the principal church of a diocese, one containing a bishop’s throne.

USAGE:
“The Supreme Court’s ex cathedra pronouncement that the area is not riverbed or floodplain commits two errors.”

ஜ~§Poem Of The Day§~ஜ

What’s Simple is True

Turn to me with frozen lips
Your hands are icy cold
Your eyes burn bright against the frost-bit sky
You never seemed more lovely than you do right tonight

Pale on the horizon
Like leaves frozen in the snow
Our two shadows merge inseparably
Will time stand still if it’s pierced with cold

The more I live
The more I know
What’s simple is true
I love you

There’s a warmth in my heart
It haunts me when you’re gone
Mend me to your side and never let go
Say ‘Time knows nothing, we’ll never grow cold’

The more I live
The more I know
What’s simple is true
I love you

Twilight descends on our silhouette
How soon spring comes
How soon spring forgets
I wanna hold time, say it’ll never begin
Old man winter be our friend
Old man winter be our friend

‘Cause the more I live
The more I know
What’s simple is true
What’s simple is true
I love, I love you

Jewel

ஜ~§Recipe Of The Day§~ஜ

Fresh Tomato Fusilli

Ingredients:
8 ounces fusilli
4 cups sliced fresh mushrooms
1/4 cup chopped onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil or cooking oil
3/4 cup chicken broth
1 teaspoon all-purpose flour
2 cups red and/or yellow cherry tomatoes, halved
1/4 cup finely chopped prosciutto or cooked ham
2 tablespoons snipped fresh basil
1 tablespoon snipped fresh oregano
1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

Preparation:
Cook pasta according to package directions; drain. Return pasta to pan.

Meanwhile, for sauce, in a large skillet cook mushrooms, onion, and garlic in hot oil about 5 minutes or until tender.

Stir chicken broth into flour; add to mushroom mixture. Cook and stir over medium heat until slightly thickened and bubbly. Cook and stir 1 minute more. Stir in tomatoes, prosciutto, basil, and oregano. Pour over pasta; toss to coat.

Transfer to a warm serving dish. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Makes 4 side-dish servings.

Brightest blessings,

S

4 Responses to Differential … not Deferential

  1. Kathy says:

    For some reason I can’t see your photos 😦 I would want to live in Disney World. Just cuz. 🙂

  2. Here’s hoping things get better soon, that your car doesn’t act up any more, and that tomorrow is a better day!!!

  3. konkurrencer says:

    Great post – I was just curious how do you get hold of such a good domain?

Leave a Reply

