Molasses my arse!


 

Morning, afternoon or evening folksies! I am apparently ALL about guessing games as of late becuase … GUESS who has a mindblowing headache? If you guessed yourself … or me … then you’re CORRECTAMUNDO! (Assuming that you also have a headache. If you guessed yourself, and you don’t have a headache, that’s just weird!)

Not too much is going on around me as of late.  Still working out at the gym 3-4 days a week and feeling pretty spectacular! I have started tanning as well.  Since I’ve been working nights the last 5 months, I’m treating myself to some light therapy.  Plus … it just makes a person LOOK and FEEL good! I have no problem with that result. 

I recall that I asked my gramma, in her later years “gramma, since you’ve had patches of skin cancer removed, I wondered, if you knew then what you know now, would you have opted not to spend as much time in the sun?”

(gramma sunbathed in crisco, NO LIE!)

She answered “absolutely not, I wouldn’t change one minute of the fun I had out on the beaches with my gal pals each summer!”

I am now tanning at the salon guilt free!

I DO have to tell you what a bad doggy mama I’ve been.  Kadee was spayed in October of 2009.  Doggy mama JUST took Kadee in to get her stitches out on Wednesday. (they were stainless steel wire stitches) Luckily they plucked out just fine, no harm no foul! (whew!) Kadee is a perfect picture of canine health.  (she needs to lose a few lbs but mainly she gained that because of the horrid winter we’ve had, no walkie walkie times!)  I’ll be scheduling a grooming session for Kadee soon, as she’s getting to be a bit scruffy.  I’m considering taking Sookie in to the groomers too … for a bath and a brush out ( gods she sheds EVERYWHERE! ) I’m hoping that once that’s done, and I start brushing her daily we can get this shedding situation under control. 

That’s really all my news.  I think I have … yes yes … here is a funny for ya!

A papa mole, a mama mole, and a baby mole, all live together in a little mole hole.

One day, papa mole sticks his head out of the hole, sniffs the air and said, ‘ Yum! I smell maple syrup!’

The mama mole sticks her head out of the hole, sniffs the air and said,
‘Oh, Yum! I smell honey!’

Now baby mole is trying to stick his head out of the hole to sniff the air,
but can’t because the bigger moles are in the way. This makes him whine,

all I can smell is….

MOLASSES!

ஜ~§Quote Of The Day§~ஜ

A Liberal is a person who will give away everything he doesn’t own. –  Unknown

ஜ~§The Question Of The Day§~ஜ

Do you have a favorite paranormal story and/or urban legend? When did you first hear it? What’s the story behind the story?

ஜ~§The Word Of The Day§~ஜ

de jure

PRONUNCIATION:
(di JOOR-ee, day JOOR-ay, day YOO-ray, day JYOO-ray) 

MEANING:
adverb: By right; by law.
adjective: Rightful.

ETYMOLOGY:
From Latin de jure (from the law). Ultimately from the Indo-European root yewes- (law) that is also the source of jury, judge, just, injury, perjury, and conjure. The complement of de jure is de facto meaning “in practice”.

USAGE:
“Martin Luther King Jr. dedicated his life to fighting for civil rights and justice for America’s black victims of de jure and de facto discrimination.”

ஜ~§Poem Of The Day§~ஜ

Madam and Her Madam

I worked for a woman,
She wasn’t mean–
But she had a twelve-room
House to clean.

Had to get breakfast,
Dinner, and supper, too–
Then take care of her children
When I got through.

Wash, iron, and scrub,
Walk the dog around–
It was too much,
Nearly broke me down.

I said, Madam,
Can it be
You trying to make a
Pack-horse out of me?

She opened her mouth.
She cried, Oh, no!
You know, Alberta,
I love you so!

I said, Madam,
That may be true–
But I’ll be dogged
If I love you!

Langston Hughes

ஜ~§Recipe Of The Day§~ஜ

Eggs in Purgatory with Artichoke Hearts, Potatoes and Capers

 

Ingredients

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 1/2 cups chopped onion
2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme
1/2 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper
Coarse kosher salt
1 8- to 10-ounce package frozen artichoke hearts, thawed, drained
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 28-ounce can diced tomatoes in juice (preferably fire-roasted)
8 ounces red-skinned or white-skinned potatoes, peeled, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
2 tablespoons drained capers
8 large eggs
1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Preparation

Heat olive oil in heavy large skillet over medium heat. Add chopped onion, chopped thyme, and crushed red pepper; sprinkle lightly with coarse kosher salt and sauté until onion is tender and golden brown, about 10 minutes. Add artichokes and minced garlic; stir 1 minute. Stir in diced tomatoes with juice and bring to boil. Reduce heat; cover skillet and simmer 15 minutes to allow flavors to blend.

Meanwhile, cook potatoes in small saucepan of boiling salted water just until tender, about 8 minutes. Drain. Add potatoes and capers to tomato-artichoke sauce; cover and simmer 5 minutes. Season to taste with coarse salt and pepper. DO AHEAD: Tomato-artichoke sauce can be made up to 6 hours ahead. Cool slightly, then cover and refrigerate. Rewarm sauce before continuing.

Preheat oven to 375°F. Pour tomato-artichoke sauce into 13 x 9 x 2-inch glass baking dish. Using back of spoon, make 8 evenly spaced indentations in sauce for holding eggs. Crack 1 egg into each indentation in sauce (some of eggs may run together slightly in spots). Bake until egg whites and yolks are softly set, 12 to 16 minutes. Carefully remove baking dish from oven; sprinkle grated Parmesan cheese over and serve.

Thanks for stopping by gentle readers, and blessings!

S

5 Responses to Molasses my arse!

  1. Kathy says:

    I used to sunbath in vegetable oil and put lemon juice in my hair to bleach it lol The question: I have lots of urban legends that I just love. It’d be impossible to pick my favorite except maybe the one about Mikey choking on the Life cereal that he loved 🙂

  2. Holly says:

    You are sooo funny, love the mole joke! I am a person that regrets spending so much time in the sun. Turns out I scar outward, and damaged skin scars. Too much sun= damaged skin and I have really ugly bumps on the back of my shoulders due to sun damage. If I knew then what I know now, I could wear cute tank tops…

  3. gualetar says:

    The subject is fully clear but why does the text lack clarity? But in general your blog is great.

Leave a Reply

