MMMKKKAAAYYY’ing While Intoxicated


HAH!!! Apparently just the fact that my co-worker is COMPLETELY annoying wasn’t enough for my friend; I should have further explained why I was even talking about her.  Further explanation is my co-worker is a weirdo and it cracks me up to say MMMKAAAYYY? in that nasally tone of hers.

To be fair, I posted “nudes” on my friday, after several days lacking good sleep.

Now, I’d like to address drinking, mine in particular. Jeez I used to drink A LOT. I was depressed and annoyed and feeling fat an un-loved. After my two former dogs passed away I was drinking nearly every other night.

Well … one day I decided to change all that.

You’ve all been following my (albiet slow) progress with my diet. I’ve also been hitting the gym pretty frequently, 3 days at the VERY least … and usually it’s 4 or 5 days at the gym. In addition to that … I’ve cut WAY WAY WAY the hell back on my wine intake.

Don’t get me wrong … somedays I stop and get the pink box. It just has to be done. You all know what I’m talking about!

But seriously folks, I was heading down the slippery slope to problem town. I mean in a big way. It had to stop. I stopped it. I’m pretty doggone proud of myself.

Then I adopted two pretty freaking awesome dogs. Sookie is not trying to tear the nose off my face nearly as often as she used to! Kadee is adjusting well and is getting to be downright flirtatious and playful!

Also and as a matter of fact … I found that I CAN take a lovely long hot bubble bath without the aid of a large cold glass of Pinot Grigio!! HOLY COW … WHO’d A THUNK IT?

Now people … this little transition of mine hasn’t been a quick or smooth one. But it’s progressing right along like everything else! And you know what else? Again … I feel pretty damned good about myself.

So on to more current news.  The other day we had weather in the 70’s then we got snow; the temp fell down to the freezing mark. Now … wanna know some change I can believe in? That would be warmer weather. I’m all hopey changey about that!

Tune in tomorrow for a post about my new mantra. (The suspense is KILLING you I know!!!)

I have no funnies in the bucket today … we’ll see what tomorrow brings.

ஜ~§Quote Of The Day§~ஜ

Charm is a way of getting the answer yes without asking a clear question.
Albert Camus

ஜ~§The Question Of The Day§~ஜ

If the interior discussion in your head were indexed by category, what would the five most recurring subjects be?

ஜ~§The Word Of The Day§~ஜ

semiquaver

PRONUNCIATION:
(SEM-ee-kway-vuhr)

MEANING:
noun: In music, a note having the time value of one-sixteenth of a whole note.

ETYMOLOGY:
From Latin semi- (half) + quaver (an eighth note). Also called demiquaver. Also see hemidemisemiquaver.

USAGE:
“Synchronising film and music is tough enough in a modern movie, but spare a semiquaver of sympathy for Dmitri Shostakovich.”

ஜ~§Poem Of The Day§~ஜ

A Sort of a Song

Let the snake wait under
his weed
and the writing
be of words, slow and quick, sharp
to strike, quiet to wait,
sleepless.
— through metaphor to reconcile
the people and the stones.
Compose. (No ideas
but in things) Invent!
Saxifrage is my flower that splits
the rocks.

William Carlos Williams

ஜ~§Recipe Of The Day§~ஜ

Eggplant Parmesan Rolls with Swith Chard and Fresh Mint

Ingredients:
2 medium eggplants (about 2 1/4 pounds total), trimmed, cut lengthwise into 1/4-inch-thick slices
Coarse kosher salt
Extra-virgin olive oil
1 1-pound bunch Swiss chard, center ribs removed
2 large eggs
1 15-ounce container whole-milk ricotta cheese
1 1/4 cups finely grated Parmesan cheese, divided
2 tablespoons chopped fresh mint
3/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 15- to 16-ounce can tomato sauce
1 8-ounce ball fresh water-packed mozzarella,* drained, thinly sliced

Preparation:
Cover bottom and sides of each of 2 large colanders with 1 layer of eggplant slices; sprinkle generously with coarse salt. Continue layering eggplant slices in each colander, sprinkling each layer with coarse salt, until all eggplant slices are used. Place each colander over large bowl; let stand at least 30 minutes and up to 1 hour. Rinse eggplant slices to remove excess salt; dry thoroughly with paper towels.

Position oven rack 5 to 6 inches from heat source and preheat broiler. Line 3 large rimmed baking sheets with parchment paper. Arrange eggplant slices in single layer on prepared baking sheets. Brush both sides of eggplant slices with olive oil. Broil 1 sheet at a time until eggplant slices are tender and beginning to brown, watching closely and removing eggplant slices as needed if cooking too quickly, 3 to 4 minutes per side. Remove baking sheet from oven and cool eggplant while preparing filling.

Bring large pot of salted water to boil. Add chard to pot and boil just until tender, about 2 minutes. Drain; rinse with cold water. Squeeze chard very dry, then chop coarsely. Squeeze chard dry again between paper towels. Whisk eggs and pinch of coarse salt in medium bowl. Stir in chopped chard, ricotta cheese, 1 cup Parmesan, mint, and black pepper.

Lightly oil 15 x 10 x 2-inch glass baking dish. Spread half of tomato sauce evenly over bottom of dish. Divide chard-ricotta filling among eggplant slices, placing about 1 heaping tablespoon filling in center of each. Starting at 1 short end of each, loosely roll up eggplant slices, enclosing filling. Arrange rolls, seam side down, atop sauce in baking dish. Spoon remaining tomato sauce over. Place mozzarella slices in single layer over rolls. Sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. DO AHEAD: Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover with foil and chill.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Bake eggplant Parmesan rolls, covered with foil, until heated through, about 30 minutes if freshly made or 40 minutes if refrigerated. Uncover and bake until brown in spots and sauce is bubbling, 15 to 20 minutes. Serve hot.

Brightest Blessings,

~S~

3 Responses to MMMKKKAAAYYY’ing While Intoxicated

  1. Kathy says:

    LOL I thought that last post was funny as can be AND I think it’s funny that E thought you were drunk 🙂 I’m going to be featuring E on my cookbook on the last day of this month! You should come by and see what she said…she’s great! And you should totally let me feature you too *hint hint*

    I can’t answer the question of the day because I have too many interior conversations and the range of subjects is very large haha but I guess #1 would always be shopping 🙂

  2. Good luck with the warm weather. We’ve had a lot of sunshine this week, but the damn wind of the ocean is blowing the warm away.

Leave a Reply

