Smokin’ Hot!


My mother is getting first crack at the new Evanovich book, but I’ll give it to you on good authority that if you’ve not been reading this series … you really should. (also for you guys out there, many of my male friends have read these and think they’re hilarious!)

Currently I’m re-reading a trilogy that is a pretty easy and fun read. I’m also re-reading Dune and I’ll start on A Tale of Two Cities when I’m done with the trilogy.  Sometimes … I look through my bookshelves and I think … I can’t decide which one i want to read again, because they’re all so deliciously good!

Tomorrow is grocery shopping day … good thing too, because right now I only have Oatmeal. Speaking of food, or lack there of, I actually have had the grilled bacon jalapeno wraps … and they are delicious.  I made mine on my stovetop grill pan.  You can actually bake them as well, just bake them until the bacon is crispy.

So … because I don’t have a whole lot of news today … I’ll go ahead and answer my question of the day … Which book do I find myself regularly re-reading and why?

The book I re-read most frequently is ‘If Tomorrow Comes’ by Sidney Sheldon

ITC

I just love the story of this book … desperate woman tries to get vengeance for her mother, gets framed by a hooligan, ends up in jail, heroically saves warden’s child, gets pardoned, and lives a life as a world class thief! Intrigue, suspense, drama, interesting characters. Excellent book that I highly recommend.  Actually I recommend anything written by Sheldon!

 

So that’s the lot for today … more on the morrow!

 

ஜ~§ Book Of The Day §~ஜ

Smokin’ Seventeen

Smokin17

Janet Evanovich ~ Stephanie Plum Series

ஜ~§ Quote Of The Day §~ஜ

I love criticism just so long as it’s unqualified praise.
Noel Coward
 

ஜ~§ Question Of The Day §~ஜ

Which book do you find yourself regularly rereading, and why?
 

ஜ~§ Word Of The Day §~ஜ

babel

PRONUNCIATION:
(BAB-uhl, BAY-buhl)

MEANING:

noun:
1. A confused mixture of noises or voices.
2. A scene of noise or confusion.

ETYMOLOGY:
From Hebrew Babhel (Babylon). In the Old Testament (Genesis 11:4-9), people united in an attempt to build a city with a tower that reached the heavens. This displeased god who halted the project by confounding people’s speech so they wouldn’t understand one another. Earliest documented use: before 1382.

USAGE:
"While an excited babel of Spanish, German, Japanese, and Hindi emanated from the dozens of television news crews in the street, the response to Charles and Camilla’s I dos among locals was mostly We Don’t."
Glenda Cooper; In Windsor, a Royal Pain; The Washington Post; Apr 10, 2005.

ஜ~§ Poem Of The Day §~ஜ

Song

By James Joyce 1882–1941 James Joyce

My love is in a light attire
Among the apple trees,
Where the gay winds do most desire
To run in companies.
 
There, where the gay winds stay to woo
The young leaves as they pass,
My love goes slowly, bending to
Her shadow on the grass.
 
And where the sky’s a pale blue cup
Over the laughing land,
My love goes lightly, holding up
Her dress with dainty hand.

ஜ~§ Recipe Of The Day §~ஜ

 

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

jalapeno-bacon-wrap-2

Ingredients
6 fresh jalapeno peppers, halved lengthwise and seeded (I don’t generally cut fully in half, I just cut off a sliver to make a little ‘boat’. Also I prefer red jalapenos and not green)
1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
12 slices bacon

Directions
1.Preheat an outdoor grill for high heat.
2.Spread cream cheese to fill jalapeno halves. Wrap with bacon. Secure with a toothpick.
3.Place on the grill, and cook until bacon is crispy.

Brightest Blessings!

~S~

2 Responses to Smokin’ Hot!

  1. CaJoh says:

    Mmmm Bacon!!!

    If it weren’t for the fact I would be the only one eating them, I may try that recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  2. a_spod says:

    Dune? There’s a Freudian book – in so many ways. But I think my “terrible purpose” has ebbed away. 😦

Leave a comment